Porto Santo's windmills are emblematic constructions that characterize the landscape and history of Porto Santo Island.
The first mill built on the island is believed to have been in 1794, in Sítio das Matas, for the grinding of cereals, namely wheat flour, necessary for bread making.
The topographic and meteorological conditions of the island, particularly its relatively low relief and its exposure to the wind, blowing from various directions, led to the emergence of these constructions on the golden island.
On the island we can find two types of windmills, the rotating mills made of wood (which are the more prevalent), and the “fixed” mills built of stone, which being more expensive, were less accessible to the population.
In the past, it is believed that there were about 30 windmills on the island. Currently, there are only six windmills, located at Miradouro da Fontinha (one), three in the Portela area (owned by the City Council) and two others, which are privately owned.
Considered one of the ex-libris of the golden island, these constructions, which currently do not operate, are well preserved and constitute an important element of the landscape, heritage and culture of Porto Santo.
Miradouro da Fontinha | Portela - Porto Santo